World Fantasy Award Nominations 2017

For those who keep track of award season, the nominees for the World Fantasy Award 2017 have been released!

World Fantasy Awards Administration
Jo Fletcher   •   Rodger Turner   •   Ellen Datlow   •   Gordon Van Gelder   •   Peter Dennis Pautz
World Fantasy Award Nominations
The World Fantasy Award Administration is pleased to announce the World Fantasy Award nominations for 2017. To be eligible, all nominated material must have been published in 2016 or have a 2016 cover date. Nominations came from two sources. Members of the current convention as well as the previous two were able to vote two nominations onto the final ballot. The remaining nominations came from the panel of judges. For this year’s awards. the judges were Elizabeth Engstrom, Daryl Gregory, Nalo Hopkinson, Juliet Marillier and Betsy Mitchell.

The awards will be presented at the World Fantasy Convention Banquet, in San Antonio, Texas.


The Life Achievement Award can only be presented once to a single individual. At previous conventions up to and including the one held in Columbus, OH in 2016, Life Achievement Awards have been presented to:


•  Forrest J. Ackerman •  Lloyd Alexander •  Ellen Asher •  Betty Ballantine •  Peter S. Beagle
•  Everett F. Bleiler •  Robert Bloch •  Jorge Luis Borges •  Ray Bradbury •  Marion Zimmer Bradley
•  Italo Calvino •  Ramsey Campbell •  Edd Cartier •  Hugh B. Cave •  Susan Cooper
•  John Crowley •  Roald Dahl •  Ellen Datlow •  Avram Davidson •  L. Sprague de Camp
•  Leo & Diane Dillon •  Tom Doherty •  Harlan Ellison •  Carol Emshwiller •  Stephen Fabian
•  Philip José Farmer •  Edward L. Ferman •  Jack Finney •  Frank Frazetta •  Alan Garner
•  Angélica Gorodischer •  Donald M. Grant •  David G. Hartwell •  Diana Wynne Jones •  Stephen King
•  R.A. Lafferty •  Madeleine L’Engle •  Ursula K. Le Guin •  Tanith Lee •  Fritz Leiber
•  Frank Belknap Long •  Brian Lumley •  George R.R. Martin •  Richard Matheson •  Patricia McKillip
•  Michael Moorcock •  C.L. Moore •  Andre Norton •  Terry Pratchett •  E. Hoffmann Price
•  Ray Russell •  Andrzej Sapkowski •  George Scithers •  Peter Straub •  Theodore Sturgeon
•  Sheri S. Tepper •  Jack Vance •  Evangeline Walton •  Donald Wandrei •  Manly Wade Wellman
•  Jack Williamson •  Gahan Wilson •  Gene Wolfe •  Chelsea Quinn Yarbro •  Jane Yolen

For 2017, the Life Achievment Award will be presented to:
•  Marina Warner
•  Terry Brooks

•  Mishell Baker, Borderline (Saga Press)
•  Betsy James, Roadsouls (Aqueduct Press)
•  N.K. Jemisin, The Obelisk Gate (Orbit)
•  Claire North, The Sudden Appearance of Hope (Redhook US/Orbit UK)
•  Matt Ruff, Lovecraft Country (Harper)

LONG FICTION 10,000 to 40,000 words
•  Kij Johnson, “The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe” (
•  Victor LaValle, “Ballad of Black Tom” (
•  Seanan McGuire, “Every Heart a Doorway” (
•  Paul F. Olson, “Bloodybones” (Whispered Echoes, Cemetery Dance)
•  Kai Ashante Wilson, “A Taste of Honey” (

SHORT FICTION under 10,000 words
•  G.V. Anderson, “Das Steingeschöpf” (Strange Horizons 12.12.16)
•  Brooke Bolander, “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies” (Uncanny Magazine 11/12.16)
•  Amal El-Mohtar, “Seasons of Glass and Iron” (The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales)
•  Maria Dahvana Headley, “Little Widow” (Nightmare 9.16)
•  Rachael K. Jones, “The Fall Shall Further the Flight in Me” (Clockwork Phoenix 5)

ANTHOLOGY multiple author original or reprint single or multiple editors
•  Mike Allen, ed., Clockwork Phoenix 5 (Mythic Delirium Books)
•  Jack Dann, ed., Dreaming in the Dark (PS Publishing)
•  Ellen Datlow, ed., Children of Lovecraft (Dark Horse Books)
•  Karen Joy Fowler and John Joseph Adams, ed., Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
•  Dominik Parisien And Navah Wolfe, ed., The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales (Saga Press)

COLLECTION single author/team original or reprint single or multiple editors
•  Joe Abercrombie, Sharp Ends (Gollancz)
•  Tina Connolly, On the Eyeball Floor and Other Stories (Fairwood Press)
•  Jeffrey Ford, A Natural History of Hell (Small Beer Press)
•  L.S. Johnson, Vacui Magia (Traversing Z Press)
•  Ken Liu, The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories (Saga Press Us/Head Of Zeus UK)

•  Greg Bridges
•  Julie Dillon
•  Paul Lewin
•  Jeffrey Alan Love
•  Victo Ngai

•  L. Timmel Duchamp for Aqueduct Press
•  C.C. Finlay for F& SF editing
•  Michael Levy and Farah Mendlesohn, for Children’s Fantasy Literature: An Introduction (Cambridge University Press)
•  Kelly Link for contributions to the genre
•  Joe Monti for contributions to the genre

•  Scott H. Andrews for Beneath Ceaseless Skies: Literary Adventure Fantasy
•  Neile Graham for her work as Workshop Director of Clarion West
•  Malcolm R. Phifer and Michael C. Phifer, ed. for The Fantasy Illustration Library, Volume Two: Gods & Goddesses (Michael Publishing)
•  Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas for Uncanny Magazine
•  Brian White for Fireside Fiction Company

You may also like...