Author: Stuart Conover

Being part of a Writing Group
Being part of a Writing Group

Taking Submissions: parABnormal Magazine 2022 – Third Call

Submission Window: October 1st, 2022 – November 30th, 2022
Payment: Fiction: $25 for original stories, $7 for reprints. Poetry: $6, Non-Fiction: 20.00 for original articles, $6.00 for reprints. $7.00 for reviews and interviews. Artwork (read details) $5.
Theme: paranormal creatures

Submissions are accepted Feb 1 – Mar 31, Jun 1 – Jul 31, Oct 1 – Nov 30.

Anything submitted outside those periods will be deleted unread.

We no longer accept simultaneous or multiple submissions.

No matter how far we move forward as humans, we are still bound by the instincts and ancestral memories of our animalistic past. None of these are so strong as the fight or flight response. However, there are times when we seem to be perfectly safe, completely at ease and comfortable, when that urge to run from something sneaks up on us. What causes these sensations? Is there something lurking in the darkness? Why is that man giving you the creeps, he’s not even looking at you? And yet, there is something odd. Something instinctual, something you know without fully understanding. We may have moved on, we may have forgotten and left behind those old stories and legends of beasts, voracious monsters, and dark spirits… But they have not forgotten or left us…

What We Want:

(more…)

Taking Submissions: Halloween Microfictions

Deadline: October 15th, 2022
Payment: $5 for stories under 1,000 words and $10 for stories 1,000 words to 1,500 words.
Theme: Erotic Halloween Stories

It’s that time of year again. Pumpkin spice. Halloween decor. Scary movies. And Circlet Press Halloween Microfictions.

For our Halloween microfictions we want stories that reflect our sensibilities—literary, erotic, exploring and celebrating gender and sexuality—while also harnessing the spirit of Autumn and October and Halloween. Horror is welcome so long as it is erotic and character-driven. Let your imaginations run wild. Stories can be funny or heartbreaking, steamy or sweet, and full on Pumpkin Spice Latte or just dusted with a hint of cinnamon, metaphorically speaking.

A few things to bear in mind:
(more…)

Taking Submissions: Solar Flare

Deadline: December 31st, 2022
Payment: 0.08 USD / word plus royalties
Theme: Stories in the future where humanity has embraced the Earth and learned to co-exist with it

Imagine a Solarpunk future where societies value cooperation over consumerism, where technology solves ecological challenges rather than creating them. SOLAR FLARE will envision a future where humanity has embraced the Earth and learned to co-exist with it, not simply on it, where sustainability is a way of life, not merely a catch phrase. Join us as these stellar authors share their visions of a hopeful tomorrow.

(more…)

Taking Submissions: Yay! They’re Here!

Deadline: December 31st, 2022
Payment: $5 and royalties
Theme: Speculative Fiction stories featuring a Human/Alien first contact that starts optomistically, but then, well, things happen.
Note: Reprints Welcome

I hereby announce that submissions are open for Yay! They’re Here! We are looking for Speculative Fiction stories featuring a Human/Alien first contact that starts optomistically, but then, well, things happen. Remeber that scene in Mars Attacks where the Humans enthusiatically welcome the Martians? Or in Monsters vs. Aliens, where the Human president goes up to greet the aliems? Or teh opening to Mork and Mindy? How do things go wrong with the encounter, and how can your characters make it right? Or can they?

(more…)

UK GIVEAWAY – Enter To Win One Of Two Copies Of ‘Leech’ by Hiron Ennes

Today, we’re thrilled to offer up two copies of ‘Leech’ by Hiron Ennes for our UK readers! Described as “A phenomenal debut and atmospheric Gothic triumph – a must for fans of Jeff VanderMeer, Tamsyn Muir, and Silvia Moreno-Garcia.

What is it about?

MEET THE CURE FOR THE HUMAN DISEASE

In an isolated chateau, as far north as north goes, the baron’s doctor has died. The doctor’s replacement has a mystery to solve: discovering how the Institute lost track of one of its many bodies.

For hundreds of years the Interprovincial Medical Institute has grown by taking root in young minds and shaping them into doctors, replacing every human practitioner of medicine. The Institute is here to help humanity, to cure and to cut, to cradle and protect the species from the apocalyptic horrors their ancestors unleashed.

In the frozen north, the Institute’s body will discover a competitor for its rung at the top of the evolutionary ladder. A parasite is spreading through the baron’s castle, already a dark pit of secrets, lies, violence, and fear. The two will make war on the battlefield of the body. Whichever wins, humanity will lose again.

This one is really easy to enter and we’ve got two physical copies up for grabs!

Enter to win below!

(more…)

Taking Submissions: The “Brave New Weird” Award & Anthology

Deadline: November 1st, 2022
Payment: $25 + two paperback copies + one award certificate
Theme: New Weird Horror as a Horror subgenre focused on progress, creatively capturing themes and questions that bleed into fiction straight from the modern reader’s life and future.
Note: Reprints Only

*PUBLISHED WORKS ONLY*

 

Tenebrous Press presents the inaugural Brave New Weird Awards—to reward and further this unique blend of genres—and its accompanying Brave New Weird:the Best New Weird Horror of the Year anthology series, showcasing the winners of each year, care of editor Alex Woodroe.

We define New Weird Horror as a Horror subgenre focused on progress, creatively capturing themes and questions that bleed into fiction straight from the modern reader’s life and future. It acts as a challenge to break new ground in terms of form and content and to engage with the unknown. Beyond that, New Weird Horror will be defined by the winning pieces themselves.

Buzzwords: speculative; eclectic; horror-centric but genre-blended; progressive and innovative in terms of content, social themes, form, or voice; concept-driven.

Does this sound like your writing? Submit your previously published work to the New Weird Horror Awards today!

(more…)

Taking Submissions: Under The Stairs

Deadline: October 31st, 2022
Payment: 3 cents per word
Theme: Homebound Horror

Ever felt like you weren’t alone in your own home? Like eyes were watching you through the walls and ceiling vents, or that if you just listened hard enough, you could hear footsteps creaking from the ceiling above you?

Home is where you’re supposed to feel safe. But what happens when that safety is violated? When something malignant – living, dead, or something that never lived at all – enters our most sacred of places and begins twisting it to use that safety against you?

You tell us.

(more…)

Taking Submissions: The Vampiricon

Deadline: October 31st, 2022
Payment: 1/2 cent per word for non-fiction, $10-$15 for poetry, $10-$15 for interior illustrations, $25 for cover illustration
Theme: Poetry, Illustration, and Non-Fiction related to vampires

SUBMISSIONS OPEN FROM September 1st through END OF DAY on Halloween (10/31/2022)

Must be directly relevant to the subject of THE VAMPIRE.

(more…)