Epeolatry Book Review: Such Pretty Things by Lisa Heathfield

Disclosure:

Our reviews may contain affiliate links. If you purchase something through the links in this article we may receive a small commission or referral fee. This happens without any additional cost to you.

Title: Such Pretty Things
Author: Lisa Heathfield
Genre: Horror
Publisher: Titan Books
Release Date: 13th April, 2020

Synopsis:

A terrifying story of ghosts and grief, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackon’s The Haunting of Hill House and Henry James The Turn of the Screw, in award-winning author Lisa Heathfield s first adult novel.

Following their mother’s accident, Clara and Stephen are sent to stay with their aunt and uncle. It’s a summer to explore the remote house, the walled garden and woods. Beyond it all the loch sits, silent and waiting.

Auntie has wanted them for so long – real children with hair to brush and arms to slip into the clothes made just for them. All those hours washing, polishing, preparing beds and pickling fruit and now Clara and Stephen are here, like a miracle, on her doorstep.

But as they explore their new home, the children uncover ghosts Auntie buried long ago. As their worlds collide, Clara and Auntie struggle for control. And every day they spend there, Clara can feel unknown forces changing her brother. Haunted and bewildered, this hastily formed family begins to tear itself apart.

Lisa Heathfield is a new author to me and I picked up this ARC, via NetGalley, (happily) based very much on the blurb:-  set in 1950’s England, Clara (just turned fourteen) and her much younger brother, Stevie, (about seven, I would guess) are deposited by their father, at their aunt’s rambling old country house to stay, after their mother’s horrific accident, which has left her in hospital.

Auntie has no children of her own (but, see the wonderful cover above, she does have dolls! And I do love dolls in fiction and what they represent). At first Auntie welcomes the children, playing surrogate mum to them, cooking meals and washing for them. Stevie, in particular, has a huge need for a mother. He also wants to play with the train set in the basement and all the other toys. 

Auntie has very strict rules and a husband, Uncle Warren, who is away working, but when home the children hear him shouting and realise he doesn’t want them in his house. But why not? Auntie’s rules become harder for the children to follow, Auntie becomes more unstable or does she? Or is it the children’s behaviour provoking her into becoming more controlling? Both Clara and Stevie are changing in this new environment and the garden yields some disturbing surprises.

I adore Gothic-style novels, with small casts, claustrophobic settings, internal/external ghosts, the possibility of lurking insanity, escalating emotions and a unexcavated darkness at the heart.

Consequently, I found myself gripped and swept along and soon buried nose-deep in ‘Such Pretty Things’. I instantly bonded with Clara, with whom I came to identify and empathise. Perhaps she’s my dream older sister?

She’s brave, loyal, feisty, strong, missing her mum, yet still trying to ‘mother’ her little brother, in this new family set-up which is all the children have left. But there can only be one ‘mother’ in the house it becomes clear as the weeks drag by.

The narrative flips throughout the novel over into revealing Auntie’s internal thoughts, which are fascinating and increasingly disturbing. 

The house and the dolls become extras in the unrolling drama, and loom large over it. The garden and marshy land beyond (the backdrop for a riveting episode which places the children in grave physical danger), the characters’ subtle interplay, their daily life and Auntie’s inner life, are beautifully written, with lush, vivid language.

This is a world with no internet, no TV, no smart phones, rather one where children play with toys, make up games and entertain themselves, where meals are eaten at the table in freshly-changed clothes (hand-sewn by Auntie – a flag? Or just a lovely gift?), where domestic rituals dominate, and where visitors from outside do not intrude. If they ever do – well, read and find out. It is therefore a very isolated world, cut off and hermetic. Setting it in the 1950’s was a good move.

Gradually we discover more of Auntie’s history, her life and her mindset. She has always wanted a family of her own, but they must play by her rules, and when they don’t – Clara goes into battle both to save herself and her brother, but can you ever escape the ties of family? Both living and dead?

This is not a straightforward ghost/supernatural/haunted house novel, but more a tale of grief, loss, sadness, instability, loss of control and a fight to survive, but there are horror aspects interwoven in the narrative – so a hybrid, I’d say a ‘lit-fic-horror-novel’.

The ending is very powerful, and won’t be to everyone’s taste, but I found it wonderfully written and very touching. I nearly cried anyway.

There are quite a few reveals in the last section of the book, maybe too many too close together? There’s a lot here to process and the reader will have to re-jig their understanding of what’s been happening, as like Clara, we’ve been kept in the dark. This reader had her suspicions but I didn’t work it all out. There was one shocking reveal near the end which stopped me in my tracks.

Author Lisa Heathfield kindly provided this quote concerning the inspiration behind her début adult novel:-

The house, with Auntie and the children arrived in my mind fully-formed one day. I let it stay there for a few months as I finished another book and then I began to write. I never plot, so I never know which way the book will go. I write long-hand and was genuinely surprised by what was coming out of my ink pen, especially Auntie’s voice, which was so strong. I knew almost immediately that it wasn’t a young adult book. In fact, after I’d finished the first draft, I tried to rewrite it as a Y.A., but it was stubborn and wouldn’t yield. I’m not sure I have a favourite character. I know that Auntie is unstable, but I have huge sympathy for her. And I’m quite fascinated by Stephen, by his need for a mother, by the internal working of his mind.”

5/5 stars

Available from Bookshop and Amazon.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Never miss a post from our team by signing up!

Alyson Faye

Alyson lives in the UK; her fiction has been published widely in print anthologies - DeadCades, Women in Horror Annual 2, Trembling with Fear 1 &2, Coffin Bell Journal 1 and Stories from Stone and in ezines, most often on the Horror Tree site, Siren’s Call and The Casket of Fictional Delights. In May 2019 Night of the Rider, was published by Demain, in their Short Sharp Shocks! E book series and reached the amazon kindle top 10 best seller lists. Her work has been read on podcasts (eg Ladies of Horror), shortlisted in competitions and published in charity anthologies. Future work will appear in anthologies from Things in the Well, Mortal Realm and Twisted Wing Publishers. She performs at open mics, teaches, edits and hangs out with her dog on the moor in all weathers. https://alysonfayewordpress.wordpress.com/ Twitter @AlysonFaye2

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.