New Zealand’s SJV Awards 2020 Nominations – the Clock is Ticking!

Nominations still open for the SJV Awards

With just 12 days left, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand  (SFFANZ) top award for science fiction, fantasy and horror is still open for nominations for works published in 2020. The 2021 Sir Julius Vogel (SJV) award is open until 11:59pm, 31st March, 2021.

Who was Vogel?

ANNO DOMINI 2000 Original Front Cover (1889).pngSir Julius Vogel was a former premier of New Zealand, who went on to write what is regarded as that country’s first science-fiction novel. This book, Anno Domini: or Woman’s Destiny, appeared in 1889 and it story evolves around a utopian society where women achieved some of the highest offices in the land.

It is available free to read here.

Who is Eligible and who can Nominate?

The awards are open to New Zealanders and New Zealand residents who have written a work in the science fiction, fantasy and horror genres and which was published or released in 2020.

Categories for nomination are:

Best Novel
Best Youth Novel
Best Novella or Novellette
Best Short Story
Best Collected Work
Best Artwork
Best Dramatic Representation
Best Production/Publication
Best New Talent
Best Fan Writing
Best Fan Artwork
Best Fan Production/Publication
Services to Fandom
Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy or Horror

Go here for more detail about guidelines for nominations and rules and criteria, here.

So far there have been over 600 nominations!

And While You’re Waiting on Announcements, Check Out the 2020 SJV winners:

Best Novel: The Dawnhounds by Sascha Stronach, pub. Little Hook Press

Best Youth Novel: The Clockhill and the Thief by Gareth Ward, pub. Walker Books Australia

Best Novella/Novellette: From a Shadow Grave by Andi C. Buchanan, pub. Paper Road Press

Best Short Story: A Shriek Across the Sky by Casey Lucas, Sponge Magazine. (Free read)

Best Collected Work: Year’s Best Aotearoa New Zealand Science Fiction & Fantasy: volume 1, ed. Marie Hodgkinson, pub. Paper Road Press
Best Professional Artwork: cover for Dragon Pearl created by Vivienne To

Best Professional Production/Publication: Swords: The Webcomic by Matthew Willis,

Best Dramatic Representation: Dr Who: The Elysian Blade, David Bishop, BBC Audio

Best Fan Artwork: Deet by Laya Rose

Best Fan Publication/Production: Plant Life by Laya Rose

Best Fan Writing: “SITREP” by Alex Lindsay, a monthly column in Phoenixine

Special Award Nominees 2020:

Best New Talent: Sascha Stronach

Services to Fandom: Grace Bridges

Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror: Melanie Harding-Shaw.

Into The Ashes (A Taine McKenna Adventure Book 3) by [Lee Murray] Note: Finalists for 2020 can be found here and the long list here.

We’ll bring you an update as soon as we can. 


You may also like...