Ladies And Gentlemen, The 2018 Bram Stoker Award Winners & Nominees

While I am not a member of the HWA, some of our staff and many of my friends are so I know this is an exciting time of year. For those of you who are interested in the 2018 Bram Stoker Award Winners & Nominees but haven’t been able to keep up, we’ve got the full list for you directly from the Horror Writers Association! My apologies for the delay, I meant to post this the other day but as always I am a bit swamped at the moment.

The Horror Writers Association is proud to congratulation the winners and nominees of the 2018 Bram Stoker Awards for superiority. The presentation of the Bram Stoker Awards® occurred during the 4th annual StokerCon™, held at the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The gala presentation happened on Saturday night, May 11th. The awards presentation was also live-streamed online and will be available for viewing within a few days on the HWA Youtube channel.

Named in honor of the author of the seminal horror novel Dracula, the Bram Stoker Awards® are presented annually for superior achievement in writing in eleven categories, including traditional works of various lengths, poetry, screenplays, and non-fiction. Previous winners include Stephen King, J.K. Rowling, George R. R. Martin, Joyce Carol Oates, and Neil Gaiman.

We proudly provide the list of talented nominees who reached the final ballot below for each category. For a list of past winners and nominees, visit

Superior Achievement in a Novel

Winner: Tremblay, Paul – The Cabin at the End of the World (William Morrow)

Katsu, Alma – The Hunger (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

Maberry, Jonathan – Glimpse (St. Martin’s Press)

Malerman, Josh – Unbury Carol (Del Rey)

Stoker, Dacre and Barker, J.D. – Dracul (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Winner: Kiste, Gwendolyn – The Rust Maidens (Trepidatio Publishing)

Fine, Julia – What Should Be Wild (Harper)

Grau, T.E. – I Am the River (Lethe Press)

Stage, Zoje – Baby Teeth (St. Martin’s Press)

Tremblay, Tony – The Moore House (Twisted Publishing)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

Winner: White, Kiersten – The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein (Delacorte Press)

Ireland, Justina – Dread Nation (Balzer + Bray)

Legrand, Claire – Sawkill Girls (Katherine Tegen Books)

Maberry, Jonathan – Broken Lands (Simon & Schuster)

Snyman, Monique – The Night Weaver (Gigi Publishing)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

Winner: LaValle, Victor – Victor LaValle’sDestroyer (BOOM! Studios)

Ahmed, Saladin – Abbott (BOOM! Studios)

Azzarello, Brian – Moonshine Vol. 2: Misery Train (Image Comics)

Bunn, Cullen – Bone Parish (BOOM! Studios)

Liu, Marjorie – Monstress Volume 3: Haven (Image Comics)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

Winner: Mason, Rena – The Devil’s Throat (Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror) (Adrenaline Press)

Bailey, Michael – Our Children, Our Teachers (Written Backwards)

Hill, Joe – You Are Released (Flight or Fright: 17 Turbulent Tales) (Scribner)

Malik, Usman T. – Dead Lovers on Each Blade, Hung (Nightmare Magazine Issue #74)

Smith, Angela Yuriko – Bitter Suites (CreateSpace)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

Winner: Landry, Jess – “Mutter” (Fantastic Tales of Terror) (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Murray, Lee – “Dead End Town”(Cthulhu Deep Down Under Volume 2) (IFWG Publishing International)

Neugebauer, Annie – “Glove Box” (The Dark City Crime & Mystery Magazine Volume 3, Issue 4-July 2018)

Taff, John F.D. – “A Winter’s Tale” (Little Black Spots) (Grey Matter Press)

Ward, Kyla Lee – “And in Her Eyes the City Drowned” (Weirdbook #39) (Wildside Press)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

Winner: Guignard, Eric J. – That Which Grows Wild (Cemetery Dance Publications)

Files, Gemma – Spectral Evidence (Trepidatio Publishing)

Iglesias, Gabino – Coyote Songs (Broken River Books)

Snyder, Lucy A. – Garden of Eldritch Delights (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Waggoner, Tim – Dark and Distant Voices: A Story Collection (Nightscape Press)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

Winner: Averill, Meredith – The Haunting of Hill House: The Bent-Neck Lady, Episode 01:05 (Amblin Television, FlanaganFilm, Paramount Television)

Aster, Ari – Hereditary (PalmStar Media)

Garland, Alex – Annihilation (DNA Films, Paramount Pictures, Scott Rudin Productions, Skydance Media)

Heisserer, Eric – Bird Box (Bluegrass Films, Chris Morgan Productions, Universal Pictures)

Woods, Bryan, Beck, Scott, and Krasinski, John – A Quiet Place (Platinum Dunes, Sunday Night)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

Winner: Datlow, Ellen – The Devil and the Deep: Horror Stories of the Sea (Night Shade Books)Datlow, Ellen – The Devil and the Deep: Horror Stories of the Sea (Night Shade Books)

Chambers, James, Grey, April, and Masterson, Robert – A New York State of Fright: Horror Stories from the Empire State (Hippocampus Press)

Guignard, Eric J. – A World of Horror (Dark Moon Books)

Murray, Lee – Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror (Adrenaline Press)

Ward, D. Alexander – Lost Highways: Dark Fictions from the Road (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

Winner: Mynhardt, Joe and Johnson, Eugene – It’s Alive: Bringing Your Nightmares to Life (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Connolly, John – Horror Express (PS Publishing)

Gambin, Lee – The Howling: Studies in the Horror Film (Centipede Press)

Ingham, Howard David – We Don’t Go Back: A Watcher’s Guide to Folk Horror (Room 207 Press)

Wetmore Jr., Kevin J. – Uncovering Stranger Things: Essays on Eighties Nostalgia, Cynicism and Innocence in the Series (McFarland)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

Winner: Tantlinger, Sara – The Devil’s Dreamland (Strangehouse Books)

Boston, Bruce – Artifacts (Independent Legions Publishing)

Cowen, David E. – Bleeding Saffron (Weasel Press)

Lynch, Donna – Witches (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Simon, Marge and Manzetti, Alessandro – War (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Specialty Press Award

Awarded to Raw Dog Screaming Press, Jennifer Barnes and John Edward Lawson.

Mentor of the Year Award

Awarded to J.G. Faherty.

Silver Hammer Award

Awarded to Jess Landry for excellent service to the organization.

Richard Laymon President’s Award

Awarded to Brad Hodson for excellent service to the organization.


You may also like...