Here Are The World Fantasy Award Nominations For 2018!

The World Fantasy Award Administration is pleased to announce the World Fantasy Award nominations for 2018. To be eligible, all nominated material must have been published in 2017 or have a 2017 cover date. Nominations came from two sources. Members of the current convention as well as the previous two were able to vote two nominations onto the final ballot. The remaining nominations came from the panel of judges. For this year’s awards. the judges were David Anthony Durham, Christopher Golden, Juliet E. McKenna, Charles Vess and Kaaron Warren

The awards will be presented at the World Fantasy Convention Banquet, in Baltimore, Maryland.


The Life Achievement Award can only be presented once to a single individual. At previous conventions up to and including the one held in San Antonio, TX in 2017, Life Achievement Awards have been presented to:


•  Forrest J. Ackerman •  Lloyd Alexander •  Ellen Asher •  Betty Ballantine •  Peter S. Beagle
•  Everett F. Bleiler •  Robert Bloch •  Jorge Luis Borges •  Ray Bradbury •  Marion Zimmer Bradley
•  Terry Brooks •  Italo Calvino •  Ramsey Campbell •  Edd Cartier •  Hugh B. Cave
•  Susan Cooper •  John Crowley •  Roald Dahl •  Ellen Datlow •  Avram Davidson
•  L. Sprague de Camp •  Leo & Diane Dillon •  Tom Doherty •  Harlan Ellison •  Carol Emshwiller
•  Stephen Fabian •  Philip José Farmer •  Edward L. Ferman •  Jack Finney •  Frank Frazetta
•  Alan Garner •  Angélica Gorodischer •  Donald M. Grant •  David G. Hartwell •  Diana Wynne Jones
•  Stephen King •  R.A. Lafferty •  Madeleine L’Engle •  Ursula K. Le Guin •  Tanith Lee
•  Fritz Leiber •  Frank Belknap Long •  Brian Lumley •  George R.R. Martin •  Richard Matheson
•  Patricia McKillip •  Michael Moorcock •  C.L. Moore •  Andre Norton •  Terry Pratchett
•  E. Hoffmann Price •  Ray Russell •  Andrzej Sapkowski •  George Scithers •  Peter Straub
•  Theodore Sturgeon •  Sheri S. Tepper •  Jack Vance •  Evangeline Walton •  Donald Wandrei
•  Marina Warner •  Manly Wade Wellman •  Jack Williamson •  Gahan Wilson •  Gene Wolfe
•  Chelsea Quinn Yarbro •  Jane Yolen

For 2018, the Life Achievement Award will be presented to:
•  Charles de Lint
•  Elizabeth Wollheim

•  The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty (Harper Voyager)
•  Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ymr by John Crowley (Saga Press)
•  The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter by Theodora Goss (Saga Press)
•  Spoonbenders by Daryl Gregory (Bond Street Books CA/Knopf US/riverrun UK)
•  The Changeling by Victor LaValle (Spiegel & Grau/Canongate Press UK)
•  Jade City by Fonda Lee (Orbit)

LONG FICTION 10,000 to 40,000 words
•  The Teardrop Method by Simon Avery (TTA Press)
•  In Calabria by Peter S. Beagle (Tachyon Publications)
•  Mapping the Interior by Stephen Graham Jones (
•  Passing Strange by Ellen Klages (
•  The Black Tides of Heaven by JY Yang (

SHORT FICTION under 10,000 words
•  “Old Souls” by Fonda Lee (Where the Stars Rise: Asian Science Fiction and Fantasy)
•  “Welcome to Your Authentic Indian Experience™” by Rebecca Roanhorse (Apex Magazine, Aug. 2017)
•  “The Birding: A Fairy Tale” by Natalia Theodoridou (Strange Horizons, Dec. 18, 2017)
•  “Clearly Lettered in a Mostly Steady Hand” by Fran Wilde (Uncanny Magazine, Sept.-Oct. 2017)
•  “Carnival Nine” by Caroline Yoachim (Beneath Ceaseless Skies, May 11, 2017)

ANTHOLOGY multiple author original or reprint single or multiple editors
•  The New Voices of Fantasy, edited by Peter S. Beagle and Jacob Weisman (Tachyon Publications)
•  Black Feathers: Dark Avian Tales, edited by Ellen Datlow (Pegasus Books)
•  The Book of Swords, edited by Gardner Dozois (Bantam Books US/Harper Voyager UK)
•  The Djinn Falls in Love and Other Stories, edited by Mahvesh Murad & Jared Shurin (Solaris)
•  The Best of Subterranean edited by William Schafer (Subterranean Press)

COLLECTION single author/team original or reprint single or multiple editors
•  Wicked Wonders by Ellen Klages (Tachyon Publications)
•  Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf Press/Serpent’s Tail UK)
•  Down and Out in Purgatory: The Collected Stories of Tim Powers by Tim Powers (Baen Books)
•  Tender: Stories by Sofia Samatar (Small Beer Press)
•  The Emerald Circus by Jane Yolen (Tachyon Publications)

•  Gregory Manchess
•  Victo Ngai
•  Omar Rayyan
•  Rima Staines
•  Fiona Staples

•  Harry Brockway, Patrick McGrath, and Danel Olson for Writing Madness (Centipede Press)
•  C. C. Finlay, for F&SF editing
•  Irene Gallo, for Art Direction at Tor Books and
•  Greg Ketter, for DreamHaven Books
•  Leslie Klinger, for The New Annotated Frankenstein (Liveright Publishing Corp.)

•  Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies: Literary Adventure Fantasy
•  Justina Ireland and Troy L. Wiggins, for FIYAH: Magazine of Black Speculative Fiction.
•  Khaalidah Muhammed-Ali and Jen R Albert, for PodCastle.
•  Ray B. Russell and Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
•  Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny Magazine

You may also like...