Category: Ongoing Submissions

Ongoing Submissions : Night Terrors Pod

Payment: $15 and 50% ad revenue on your episode for one year
Theme: Horror, Creepy, Paranormal, Suspenseful, or Thriller Stories

Thank you for your interest in submitting your work to be produced for Night Terrors Podcast. We are a horror/creepy narration podcast looking to create episodes showcasing a new writer each episode. Our episodes run between 20 and 40 minutes, so we’re looking for 2000 to 4000 word submissions. Since this new series is based around showcasing authors, we strongly encourage multiple stories that add up to around the word count, but if you believe you have a single story that is compelling enough, please do not hesitate to send it along. All submissions should be sent to [email protected] with the Subject reading NTP Submission.

What we’re looking for:
(more…)

Of Metal And Magic Publishing Is Open To Fantasy Novels, Novellas, And Collections

Payment: Royalties
Theme: “traditional fantasy.” We define this as second-world, past settings.

We are always on the lookout for new fantasy voices! Whether you are a brand new fantasy author, or a veteran looking for more publishing opportunities, we would love to hear from you. Send us your pitch through the contact form below.

We are currently looking for the following content or support:

  • Beta readers, beta readers, beta readers!
  • Flash fiction and short stories for our website and future anthologies
  • Guest posts for our blog
  • Fantasy novellas
  • Stand-alone Fantasy novels (multi-book series are currently a hard sell due to processing time)
  • Fantasy story collections (all stories should be in the same fantasy setting)

If you’ve got something you think we’d like, send us your pitch!
(more…)

Ongoing Submissions: The Society of Misfit Stories Magazine

Payment: $50, $25 for reprints
Theme: All speculative genres (horror, fantasy, science fiction, slipstream, steampunk, magical realism, etc), as well as mysteries, thrillers, and action-adventure stories.
Note: Reprints Welcome

Accepts:

The Society of Misfit Stories is a journal published three times a year. We are interested in all speculative genres (horror, fantasy, science fiction, slipstream, steampunk, magical realism, etc), as well as mysteries, thrillers, and action-adventure stories.

Stories should be between 5,000-20,000 words in length. 

Payment details:

Previously published short stories: $25 for the non-exclusive, perpetual right to publish the story in the assigned issue. 

Original, unpublished short stories: $50 for non-exclusive, perpetual rights to publish the story in the assigned issue.

Send Submissions to

[email protected]

General Guidelines for All Projects

All submissions must be electronic only. We do not accept hard copies of submissions.

Stories must be complete, stand-alone stories. We will consider stories that are part of an existing setting (for example, a “prequel” story that ties into an author’s novel) but the story must be self-contained and have a clear conclusion. No “cliffhanger” stories.

The subject line of the submission should indicate the name of the publication you are submitting for and the title of the story.

Examples:

Bards and Sages Quarterly: Title of My Story

The Society of Misfit Stories: Title of My Story

This is very important to make sure that your story is processed correctly. I get hundreds of emails A DAY regarding everything from legitimate business correspondence to not-so-legitimate SPAM. So that I can get your story routed to the correct reviewer, please make sure that the project and name of your story are in the subject line.

Bards and Sages Quarterly can be abbreviated to BASQ and The Society of Misfit Stories can be abbreviated to TSMS to accommodate long story titles. Best Indie Speculative Fiction can be abbreviated to BISF.

Body of the email. Please include the following information:

(more…)

Ongoing Submissions: Hexagon Magazine

Payment: $5 CAD for accepted poetry and cartoons, $10 CAD for accepted written works (Prose up to 7,500 words), $30 CAD for Graphic Stories and $100 CAD for cover art pieces.
Theme: All forms of Speculative Fiction

Hexagon SF Magazine wants to ensure that the submission process is easy for creators. We try to respond to all comments, queries, and concerns within a few days. Please do not query regarding the status of a submission until 6 weeks have passed. If for any reason the submission form does not work correctly, please feel free to send us your submission via email.

#BlackVoicesMatter #BlackLivesMatter

Our submission response times are typically between 2-10 days.

What we are looking for

(more…)

Ongoing Submissions: The Common Tongue Magazine

Payment: 3 cents per word
Theme: Dark High Fantasy

Fiction Guidelines

WORD LIMIT 600-6,000 words. No exceptions. We are more likely to accept smaller works than longer, unless the latter is rather exceptional in quality
PAY RATE 3¢ per word. Payment via PayPal or Stripe
GENRE Dark High Fantasy (What is high fantasy?)
LANGUAGES English, Spanish (We accept stories from around the world, but translations are encouraged)
RIGHTS First world electronic rights (text and audio), first print rights, and non-exclusive single use anthology rights for our annual The Common Tongue Magazine anthology. Copyright for work set in our Shared World

(more…)

Ongoing Submissions: The AntiHumanist

Payment: 5 cents US per word
Theme: Fiction that challenges human centred narratives, that forces us to confront our place in the universe, that makes us question: Who are we? Why are we here? Is there a purpose?

We want flash fiction that delights and disturbs.

WHAT DO WE WANT?

LENGTH

Fiction comes in all lengths, but we believe that the brevity is the soul of wit. Flash fiction, micro-fiction, short shorts and numerous other labels exist for the genre – and for us it means works 1000 words or less.

 

GENRE

We want fiction that challenges human centred narratives, that forces us to confront our place in the universe, that makes us question: Who are we? Why are we here? Is there a purpose? Historically, weird fiction has best captured this goal. However, we are willing to accept submissions from speculative, horror, and literary writers that meet the above criteria.

(more…)

Ongoing Submissions: Hyphen Punk

Payment: $25
Theme: Speculative fiction with some type of -Punk aesthetic. Cyber-, steam-, solar-, diesel-, ray-, bio-, street-, splatter-, arcano-, nano-, or whatever else your crazed imagination can come up with.

Submissions

We want to publish your speculative fiction with some type of -Punk aesthetic. Cyber-, steam-, solar-, diesel-, ray-, bio-, street-, splatter-, arcano-, nano-, or whatever else your crazed imagination can come up with. If its -Punk then it fits.

We will accept short stories and graphic stories. We will also accept art which can be used for cover art.

Fiction should be between 1000 and 7500 words. We only accept previously unpublished stories in English. All stories should be original to the creator/submitter. No Fan Fiction.

Graphic stories should be no longer than 20 pages and contain only original work. (more…)

Ongoing Submissions: The Savage Realms

Payment: $25
Theme: Stories from the classic Sword and Sorcery genre

Literary Rebel is looking for a few good authors!

Are you a sword and sorcery fan? Do you pen tales of savages and wizards in your spare time? Have you always wanted to be a published author but have no idea where to start? Literary Rebel is seeking talented writers to feature in Savage Realms Monthly! The best part… We pay!

Savage Realms Monthly is a new sword and sorcery magazine for fans of R.E. Howard, Karl Edward Wagner, and Michael moorcock, featuring heroic tales of savage barbarians, evil wizards, and beautiful maidens. We aim to revitalize the Sword and Sorcery genre with brand new tales of adventure from some of today’s most talented authors. Our first issue is scheduled to land in January and will be available in Kindle and print formats.

Send us your best sword and sorcery themed tale of no more than ten thousand (10,000) words and, if we like it, we’ll pay for first publishing rights. Don’t worry, you as the author will retain the copyright to all characters and locales so you are free to publish stories within your fictional universe in other publications in the future. We’ll even link to any websites, social media, or storefronts you desire.

(more…)