Epeolatry Book Review: The Shadow Rising by Robert Jordan


Our reviews may contain affiliate links. If you purchase something through the links in this article we may receive a small commission or referral fee. This happens without any additional cost to you.

Title: The Shadow Rising (The Wheel of Time, Book 4)
Author: Robert Jordan
Genre: Epic Fantasy
Publisher: Tor Books
Release Date: October 15th, 1993

Synopsis: Soon to be an original series starring Rosamund Pike as Moiraine!

Robert Jordan’s #1 New York Times bestselling epic fantasy series, The Wheel of Time®, continues.

The seals of Shayol Ghul are weak now, and the Dark One reaches out. The Shadow is rising to cover humankind.

In Tar Valon, Min sees portents of hideous doom. Will the White Tower itself be broken?

In the Two Rivers, the Whitecloaks ride in pursuit of a man with golden eyes, and in pursuit of the Dragon Reborn.

In Cantorin, among the Sea Folk, High Lady Suroth plans the return of the Seanchan armies to the mainland.

In the Stone of Tear, the Lord Dragon considers his next move. It will be something no one expects, not the Black Ajah, not Tairen nobles, not Aes Sedai, not Egwene or Elayne or Nynaeve.

Against the Shadow rising stands the Dragon Reborn….

The Shadow Rising opens with the city of Tear and its citadel under Rand’s control with the help of the Aiel, a tribe of warriors from the great desert to the east. Matt is still trying to escape his destiny as one of the taver’en linked to Rand, The Dragon Reborn, but gets pulled back into the fray with every attempt. Mistakenly, he becomes the leader of a much renowned war party. Perrin returns to the Two Rivers with Faile, a hunter of the horn they drew into their adventures in the last volume, who is falling for Perrin. Back in the Two Rivers he learns the peaceful folks from his home still have the blood of the great country of Manetheren flowing in their veins, a country destroyed long ago in the Trolloc Wars.

This is the book where the main characters really start to shine. They each begin to rise to their destiny, and it is a ton of fun following them as the different opposing forces try to stop them.

This one is a bit longer than any other volume so far at over 1000 pages, but every development is worth it. In this novel we learn more about the world they inhabit, and more about the Forsaken and what makes them tick.

This one took me a bit longer to get through, but I give it another 5 out of 5 stars.

Available from Amazon and Bookshop.

You may also like...