Author: Melody E McIntyre

Epeolatry Book Review: Avatar: The Last Airbender–Imbalance Omnibus by Faith Erin Hicks, et al

Disclosure:

Our reviews may contain affiliate links. If you purchase something through the links in this article we may receive a small commission or referral fee. This happens without any additional cost to you.

Title: Avatar: The Last Airbender–Imbalance Omnibus
Author: Faith Erin Hicks, Bryan Konietzko, Michael Dante DiMartino
Artist: Peter Wartman, Adele Matera
Genre: Kids, Fantasy, Action/Adventure 
Publisher: Dark Horse
Release Date:  August 30, 2023

Synopsis: Aang faces a decision from which there is no return!

When Aang, Katara, Sokka, and Toph return to Earthen Fire Industries–the factory owned by Toph’s father–Aang is surprised when their arrival is met with a cold shoulder. As soon as the team is asked for help at a business council meeting, the reason for the slight becomes clear: a massive bender-versus-non-bender conflict has gripped the town and is threatening to turn violent. In order to heal the divide and save the town, Aang and the team will all face tough decisions about power and identity that could tear them apart.

Join Faith Erin Hicks (The Adventures of Superhero Girl, The Nameless City) and drawn by Peter Wartman (Stonebreaker), in collaboration with Avatar: The Last Airbender creators Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko in this beautiful second edition of Imbalance! With a brand-new cover by Peter Wartman!

Collects Avatar: The Last Airbender–Imbalance volumes 1-3

(more…)

Epeolatry Book Review: Dark Woods, Deep Water by Jelena Dunato

Disclosure:

Our reviews may contain affiliate links. If you purchase something through the links in this article we may receive a small commission or referral fee. This happens without any additional cost to you.

Title: Dark Woods, Deep Water
Author: Jelena Dunato
Genre: Horror
Publisher: Ghost Orchid Press
Release date: 19th September, 2023

Synopsis: In the depths of a remote forest, an enchanted castle preys on unwary travellers. The servants of the Goddess Morana sacrifice to their dark mistress every soul who crosses its threshold. One terrible night, three people who should never have met find themselves trapped there: a spoiled lady escaping an unwanted marriage, an aging warrior-prince on a deadly mission, and a resourceful rogue caught up in a botched heist. As their destinies entwine and the dawn approaches, the solution to the castle’s riddle becomes clear: if they want to escape, one of them must die.

A dark fantasy tale inspired by Slavic folklore, Dark Woods, Deep Water is the debut novel by Croatian author Jelena Dunato. Set in an intricately imagined world that staggers the line between fairytale and brutality, this novel will appeal to fans of Katherine Arden and Naomi Novik, as well as lovers of classic Gothic fiction.

(more…)

Epeolatry Book Review: Foxfire by Rowan Hill

Disclosure:

Our reviews may contain affiliate links. If you purchase something through the links in this article we may receive a small commission or referral fee. This happens without any additional cost to you.

Title: Foxfire
Author: Rowan Hill
Publisher: Bayou Wolf Press
Genre:
Horror/Thriller
Release date: 10th October, 2023

Synopsis: In a remote Finnish resort, a group of potential investors gather to enjoy the Arctic beauty and the mesmeric Northern lights. But many of the guests aren’t who they appear to be, and everyone is hiding something–from the gaudy Americans to the adventurous German and Australian couple to the quiet Yakuza and his former Geisha wife.

Owner Mattais and his skeptical daughter, Aino, have ignored family legends, dismissing the warnings of honoring their ancient forest as silly, old-fashioned traditions. But when the guests start to be picked off one by one, their blood soaked in the snow, the old tales don’t seem so far-fetched anymore. A spectre haunts the forest and the survivors must decipher who–or what–is taking revenge.

(more…)

Epeolatry Book Review: Grey Noise by Marcus Hawke

Disclosure:

Our reviews may contain affiliate links. If you purchase something through the links in this article we may receive a small commission or referral fee. This happens without any additional cost to you.

Title: Grey Noise
Author: Marcus Hawke
Publisher: Hawke Haus Books
Genre:
Horror
Release date: 19th June, 2023

Synopsis: Evan Grey is just trying to get his store, REWIND VIDEO, up and running. Fate, unfortunately, often has other plans. Then he finds something that would be the perfect touch, an old vacuum tube TV. One that keeps turning to static. And it too has other plans.

It follows you.

Drives you.

It’s already inside you.

Lose yourself in… GREY NOISE.

(more…)

Epeolatry Book Review: Maeve Fly by CJ Leede

Disclosure:

Our reviews may contain affiliate links. If you purchase something through the links in this article we may receive a small commission or referral fee. This happens without any additional cost to you.

Title: Maeve Fly
Author: CJ Leede
Publisher: Tor Nightfire
Genre:
Horror 
Release date: 6th June, 2023

Synopsis: By day, Maeve Fly works at the happiest place in the world as every child’s favorite ice princess.

By the neon night glow of the Sunset Strip, Maeve haunts the dive bars with a drink in one hand and a book in the other, imitating her misanthropic literary heroes.

But when Gideon Green – her best friend’s brother – moves to town, he awakens something dangerous within her, and the world she knows suddenly shifts beneath her feet.

Untethered, Maeve ditches her discontented act and tries on a new persona. A bolder, bloodier one, inspired by the pages of American Psycho. Step aside Patrick Bateman, it’s Maeve’s turn with the knife.

(more…)

Epeolatry Book Review: Winter Harvest by Ioanna Papadopoulou

Disclosure:

Our reviews may contain affiliate links. If you purchase something through the links in this article we may receive a small commission or referral fee. This happens without any additional cost to you.

Title: Winter Harvest
Author: Ioanna Papadopoulou
Publisher: Ghost Orchid Press
Genre: Greco-Roman Myth & Legend Fantasy eBooks, Mythology
Release date: 21st November, 2023

Synopsis: When her beloved daughter Kore vanishes, Demeter is distraught. Suspecting betrayal and mistrusting of her family, she searches across the world, unable to come to terms with such a loss. But Demeter is one of the original goddesses of Mount Olympus, and a force not to be underestimated. She is determined that she will find her daughter, even if it means destroying humanity in the process.

Winter Harvest is a brand-new, dark reimagining of the tale of Demeter and Persephone by Greek author Ioanna Papadopoulou. Steeped in lore and with a deep understanding of the many different facets of Demeter’s personality, this retelling will change your perspective on one of the most well-known stories of Greek mythology.

(more…)

Epeolatry Book Review: Dead by Daylight #1 by Nadia Shammas, Dillon Snook, Emilio Lecce

Disclosure:

Our reviews may contain affiliate links. If you purchase something through the links in this article we may receive a small commission or referral fee. This happens without any additional cost to you.

Title: Dead by Daylight #1
Author: Nicole Shammas
Art: Dillon Snook, Emilio Lecce
Publisher:
Titan Comics
Genre: Horror Graphic Novels, Media Tie-in Graphics
Release date: 14th June, 2023

Synopsis: When the rebellious FRANK crashes into the lives of JULIE, JOEY, and SUSIE, together they’ll unleash bloody chaos onto the sleepy, dead-end town of Ormond.

(more…)

An Interview With Scott Leeds On Schrader’s Chord

Melody E. McIntyre’s Interview Questions for Scott Leeds

Scott Leeds lives in the Pacific Northwest and his debut novel, Schrader’s Chord comes out September 5, 2023 from Tor Nightfire. It’s a gripping tale about a man who returns to clean up his father’s estranged estate and inadvertently opens a portal to the underworld when he and his friends play four cursed records. It’s a fun, scary horror thriller and I was happy to read and review an ARC for The Horror Tree, and now I’ve had the opportunity to interview Scott Leeds himself.

(more…)